What is the NDIS?

National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS) is a new way of living for people with a disability to get the care and support they need to live their best life.

The NDIS is available across all states and territories, providing support to eligible people with intellectual, physical, sensory, cognitive and psychosocial disability.

Early intervention supports can also be provided for eligible people with a disability or children with a developmental delay.

The NDIS gives all Australians peace of mind if they, their child or loved one is born with or acquires a permanent and significant disability, they will get the support they need.


If you are eligible for the NDIS, you can work with the NDIA to tailor a plan and receive funding to support the goals in your plan. The NDIS has been designed to offer you choice and control, giving you the flexibility to manage your day-to-day activities with the option to receive as many necessary supports as you need.


You are eligible to participate in the NDIS if you are:

  • Living with a permanent and significant disability that affects your ability to take part in everyday activities;
  • An Australian citizen or permanent resident, New Zealand citizen, or the holder of a protected Special Category Visa;
  • Under the age of 65.

For more information on eligibility requirements, visit NDIS eligibility checklist.

To complete an access request form, contact the NDIS directly. Visit www.ndis.gov.au or call 1800 800 110.

Subscribe Now

Subscribe to our newsletter & stay updated